Vegan wine from Croatia

Min: €0 Max: €30

During the clarification of the wine, substances are used for the removal of bacteria, yeast cells and other undesirable contaminants that can affect the taste and appearance of the bottled wine.

These binders cluster the particles, but are often of animal origin. Used is gelatin (obtained from beef or fish skin and bones), casein (a milk protein) and protein. For wine bottled before 1997, wine makers even used blood.

Vegan alternatives

However, mineral alternatives can also be found, such as bentonite (derived from clay) or vegetable substances derived from wheat, pea or soya.

The Croatian wineries have shown that all wines from PP Orahovica, Vina Carić, Madirazza, Bolfan and Kabola are fully suitable for vegans.


Page 1 of 2
By using our website, you agree to the usage of cookies to help us make this website better. Hide this message More on cookies »