The wines in this category are all produced organically or biodynamically. They are all ECO-certified.
All these wine are suitable for vegans as well, But wat does that mean?
During the clarification of the wine, substances are used for the removal of bacteria, yeast cells and other undesirable contaminants that can affect the taste and appearance of the bottled wine.
These binders cluster the particles, but are often of animal origin. Used is gelatin (obtained from beef or fish skin and bones), casein (a milk protein) and protein. For wine bottled before 1997, wine makers even used blood.
However, mineral alternatives can also be found, such as bentonite (derived from clay) or vegetable substances derived from wheat, pea or soya.
The Croatian wineries have shown that all wines from PP Orahovica, Vina Carić, Madirazza, Bolfan and Kabola are fully suitable for vegans.